The Little Engine Who Smutted

Posted: April 25, 2013 in Uncategorized, writing
Tags: , ,

You all may or may not know that this story I’m working on has smut in it. Of course if you didn’t know before you do now. You can thank the smutty content for the title of my post.

Anyway, now that we’ve got that bit out of the way…

I’ve reached that point in the story where everything is falling into place and the end is nigh. And I hate it.

In theory, I should be happy that I’m spitting distance from the end of this novel. I love my characters. The plot has developed at a good pace and for once I shouldn’t have any major plot holes to pave over when I edit. These are all good things.

But still: the hate.

Anyone who’s seen my babbling on twitter has probably happened upon at least a couple of my character related tweets. My current main characters, Taisce and Sef, are idiots and I love them for it. They argue while they travel from town to town. They insult each other during sex. Taisce is allergic to the words “thank you” and Sef has considered a number of creative ways to kill him. (Did I mention that this is a romance?) This is the most fun I’ve had writing a story in a while. And it’s almost over.

The usual response to the end of a first draft seems to be “Hurray! I’m done!” Mine is more along the lines of writhing on the floor while listening to break up songs.

But I’m the Little Engine Who Smutted and I can do this. It would be ridiculous to get this close to the end and then stop. Not to mention counterproductive. My characters may have to drag me every syllable of the way but we’ll make it to THE END. And when we get there I will bid them farewell for now (Don’t forget I still have a novella to write for you, Sef.) even though it will stomp my heart. They deserve a proper ending and I’d hate to let them down.

No doubt I’ll be pulling out of the station again sometime soon, chugging up my hill with a new set of characters that I never thought I could love as much as the old ones, and when I get close to the top of the hill I’ll have to remind myself again: I can do it. I can do it. I can do it. Because I can. And I will.

Comments
  1. writhing on the floor while listening to break up songs.
    That. That is wonderful. It means you’re doing it right. 🙂

Leave a Reply

