Trifecta, Take 2

Posted: May 2, 2013 in Trifecta posts, Uncategorized, writing
Tags: ,

I’ve been meaning to participate in the Trifecta Writing Challenge again… basically ever since I did it that first time. But time kept slipping away from me and I kept forgetting because I’ve been elbow deep in angsty man pain (aka: the current novel). Anyway, long story short I finally managed to write something for the latest one! Hurray! I’m proud of me.

This time the theme word was “door” but according to the rules of the game it had to be using the 3rd definition of it.

DOOR

1: a usually swinging or sliding barrier by which an entry is closed and opened; also : a similar part of a piece of furniture
2: doorway
3: a means of access or participation : opportunity <opens new doors> <door to success>

 

So. That was insanely difficult for me. XD  But here’s my go at 3rd definition usage of the word “door” :

He built his own door out of blood and determination. He painted it with tears. Around it rose the walls of a fortress, set high and forbidding, all the better to keep out the memories and bodies that scattered at his feet.

One day it will crumble but that day is not today.

Comments
  1. Draug419 says:

    Real men build their doors out of blood haha 😀 Love this.

  2. We’re very glad you managed to find time to come back. Love the piece.

    Thanks for linking up! Don’t forget to come back and vote!

  3. jannatwrites says:

    I guess angsty man pain helps…this was a cool piece 🙂 (The painted with tears was great! And the memories and bodies scattered at his feet made me pause….bodies???)

  4. atrm61 says:

    Wonderful-short,sharp & precise!Loved it:-)

Leave a Reply

