Victory Lap

Posted: May 17, 2013 in Uncategorized, writing
Tags: , ,

So. I’m done. Or technically I was done two days ago on Wednesday night. The first draft of Forgotten Monster is complete at about 80,000 words and I’ve packed Taisce and Sef off to do… whatever it is they do in between books. Knowing them, sex will be involved. And arguing. Probably at the same time.

I feel like I should do some kind of retrospective. This is my longest first draft yet and probably the quickest completed. Dade’s story took me the better part of a year to write and it STILL doesn’t have a proper ending. So I guess this means I’m improving. Or the amazing support of twitter (you know who you guys are, so thank you) helped me focus. I’ll take all of the above.

I won’t lie. I’m still a little sad that I’m done with my draft. There’s another book in their future (I think) but it’s not time to write it yet. It’s time to shuffle back to Dade and put his puzzle pieces back in order. (He’s been waiting quite patiently. I’m rather impressed.)

But before I go: one more victory dance for me. Because woohoo! I finished. \o/  It feels good.

And as promised, I present my (not completely accurate) map of Taisce’s world. Those of you who have listened to my plotting complaints may recognize some of the city names. I didn’t draw it in but the forest (of ill repute) lies between Ciaran and Clotsfield. I really hate that forest. XD

Image

Comments
  1. L.M. Murphy says:

    Did you name places after writers by chance? And do you (also by chance) want to make me a map of the island my characters go to war on? I’ll pay you in scenes and motivation. XD

    • I have no idea what you mean about naming cities after writers. Eheh. *shifty eyes*
      But I can definitely draw a map if it’s not too complicated. I seriously took hours drawing mine because my mountains looked like crap. XD

Leave a Reply

