This Is What Happens When I Have Questions – What do burnt feathers look like?

Posted: August 4, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags:

So, maybe it’s just me but sometimes when I’m writing I find myself wondering “exactly what DOES that look like?” Today was no different. In the process of writing some fanfiction (yes I write fanfiction when the urge strikes) I came upon a problem: What do burning/burnt feathers look like? And so like any good writer I asked twitter. 😀 Thank you for answering, twitter. And for warning me about the smell. It really was horrible.

But why stop there?

In the interest of fictional accuracy, I grabbed some brightly colored craft feathers and one feather that I found in the yard (I suspect it was from a mourning dove) and set out to burn things. Here are my findings:

#1. Feathers burn surprisingly well. And they also stink. A lot. Someone said they smell like burning hair and that’s probably pretty accurate.

#2. When feathers burn they actually melt and shrivel. There was a bit of bubbling on the last burning attempt and they ended up a big ugly black blob because multiple feathers melted together.

#3. The whole feather burns, including the shaft though that seemed to take a little bit longer.

Now, don’t you all feel so much more knowledgeable?

PS: If you guys would like more in depth info I have before and after pictures. Let me know and I’ll post them.

Leave a Reply

